Top Five First in Series

I’ve been reading a fair bit lately, mostly books in similar genres to mine, so I thought you might interested in a few recommendations. For a start, here are my top five First in Series books. Just watch out – once you’re hooked, you’re in for good

  1. Justice Calling by Annie Bellet

It’s the first book in the Twenty-Sided Sorceress series, which features heroine Jade Crow hiding out from her evil ex-boyfriend in a little town with a huge population of shifters. Everyone thinks Jade’s a hedge witch, but she’s actually sorceress, a feared form of magic user who is reputed to eat the hearts of other sorcerers to gain more power. Annie Bellet says that she’s a nerdy gamer, and loves to put references to gaming and pop culture in her books – but don’t worry, if you’re not into either of those things, it’s still a great story and an intriguing start to a series… Even better, it’s FREE!

Click the link here to go to Amazon and download Justice Calling.

  1. The Rylee Adams Series by Shannon Mayer

I got into this series, and kept just downloading the next book, and reading on from there. They’re fairly short, although I have no idea how much shorter than the average book… but I was definitely addicted to them once I started. Rylee is a great character, and she’s surrounded by some intriguing side kicks, from her ex-cop turned werewolf boyfriend to her submissive werewolf best buddy, and the harpy who hangs out in the garage. It’s fast paced and action filled, and a good way to spend time reading. The first book isn’t free, but it’s worth the couple of bucks to get into the series.

Click here to go to Amazon and download the first book in the Rylee Adams series.

  1. The Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs

This is a great series, and Mercy is such a great character. She’s a coyote shifter raised by werewolves, who now fixes cars and kicks butt for a living. These books are a little more expensive than the others in this list, but they’re well worth the extra dosh. The first book in the series is Moon Called, and sets up Mercy’s world, which includes werewolves, vampires, gremlins, the fae, river monsters, and much, much more.

Click here to check out the first book in the Mercy Thompson series on Amazon.

  1. The Descent Series by SM Reine

This one’s a box set, because for some reason the first book by itself isn’t free, but the box set of the first three books is free! The Descent Series features angels and demons, but not as we know them. It’s got a 4.1 rating on Amazon with an amazing 1,120 reviews (at the time of writing). Some readers apparently had issues with the story flicking back and forth between flashbacks and the present but overall it’s a great premise and a fantastic story…and it’s free, which makes it pretty irresistible.

Click the link here to go to Amazon and download the Descent Series books. 

  1. The Kingdom Series by Marie Hall

This is a fun series that follows the romantic adventures of the bad boys of fairytale and legend. The box set of the first three books in the series is free on Amazon, and well worth the download. It starts with the Mad Hatter and Alice, goes on to playboy Gerard from Beauty and the Beast and a nerdy librarian, and then Little Red Riding Hood and the big bad wolf… It’s another great premise and a fun read. And again, the box set is also free.

Click the line here to go to Amazon and download the box set. 

Happy reading!

Trudi Jaye 🙂


Leave a Comment: